Hello Folks,

I need to clear something up. I did not write that article, although I did modify it a bit to suit my own tastes. I accidentally published it instead of saving it before I had the chance to cite the original author. I had to leave the computer for a few hours before I realized what had happened.

I was surprised with all of the hits and comments I received during that short time. I took a look at my stats page, and I realized that the article had been dugg. Wow. I have had some action on my blogs before, but nothing like this. So as soon as I discovered this, I updated the article to (a) show the source of the message and (b) ensure that the reader understands that it is tongue-in-cheek.

However, a comment was left for me by Eric Dondero. From what I understand by reading his comment and googling his name, he was a former staffer who was fired, according to Ron Paul in this article. I do not know the internals of what happened nor do I care to comment on any of that to as I am not privy to the facts. Either could have been right/wrong or grey. Neither of them will tell me what really happened, I am pretty sure of that.

However, I would like to respond to his comment that he left on the previous article I posted here. Here is Eric’s comment. My questions comments appear in blue

On the contrary. The exact opposite is happening. They’re giving Ron Paul a complete pass.

Romney and Guiliani (Mr. 9/11) are getting free pass. Huckabee has been getting a free pass. Oh sure, there are attacks on each other with respect to petty things that don’t really matter but make a good dog and pony show. I direct your attention to a comment I sourced from a US banking magazine:

Capital must protect itself in every possible manner by combination and legislation. Debts must be collected, bonds and mortgages must be foreclosed as rapidly as possible. When, through a process of law, the common people lose their homes they will become more docile and more easily governed through the influence of the strong arm of government, applied by a central power of wealth under control of leading financiers. This truth is well known among our principal men now engaged in forming an imperialism of Capital to govern the world. By dividing the voters through the political party system, we can get them to expend their energies in fighting over questions of no importance. Thus by discreet action we can secure for ourselves what has been so well planned and so successfully accomplished.

– US Bankers Magazine, Aug 25, 1924

Read that quote carefully. Doesn’t it seem to fit with what is going on today? This is just more of the same.

I served as his 1996 Campaign Coordinator here in Texas for his Congressional Campaign. The liberal Houston and ultra-liberal Austin newspapers ate Ron Paul for lunch. Daily barrage of attacks on his for being a “Racist” and tied in with Anti-Semitic groups, and a fringe Texas Separatist. It was awful stuff.

Geez, Eric. That’s pretty serious stuff. One question. Were they right? Is or was Ron Paul a racist? This seems to be the topic floating around these days, although I have to admit, even Old Media is reluctant to touch that one – with the exception of the $500.00 donated by Don Black recently. I suspect they don’t want to touch that one as they figure that they cannot substantiate it, thus avoid the nasty libel suit that would be sure to follow from Paul’s camp.

Is he tied in with Anti-Semitic groups? A fringe Texas Separatist? What is that? He wanted to have Texas secede from the US, similar to the way Quebec held a referendum in 1995 to determine whether or not to seperate from Canada ?

You said it “was awful stuff”. You failed to state whether or not it “was accurate stuff”.

But back then Paul was running more as a standard Republican, almost a Bush Conservative.

But that was in 1996, right? Before 9/11? Before the Iraq War that was sold to Americans under false pretenses? When the US dollar was pretty stable and strong before the Fed under Greenspan started assaulting it? I have been reading Ron Paul’s articles for about 5 years, and he seems consistent to me.

Now, he’s bashing Bush and opposing the War in Iraq. So he’s become the media darling, getting far more press than he deserves.

Media Darling? If you define the time and effort by media marginalizing him, suppressing his message, pulling online polls because he keeps winning the darn things as supporters of other candidates are not all that impassioned for their man/woman, and other tricks, then I agree with you, he is getting far more press than he deserves. The last thing I would want is that kind of press either. I just want them to give me equal airtime, let the people learn about the message I represent, stop spinning me as a kook or pre-decide I am a long-shot and leading the people on what to think, OK?

Witness his national polls numbers are consistently less than 5%. Yesterday a poll came out of Florida with Paul at 2%!!

I am very curious about the legitimacy of these polls, the motivation of the folks who conduct them and the people that pay the pollsters. There have been many many reports Eric, of polls engineered to not include Ron Paul’s name on it. Here’s one for a hoot.

Duncan Hunter has nearly the same poll numbers, but you don’t see the media fawning all over him.

Ron Paul’s message threatens the establishment of big government, mainstream media credibility, lucrative foreign entanglements. We have been manipulated for years! Everyone I talk to – and it has been dozens, both friends and strangers – about Ron Paul essentially say the same thing: “Wow! A guy who makes sense. They’re never gonna let him win or he’s gonna get shot.”

Duncan is a non-starter. It won’t be long before he bows out and backs either Romney or Guliani.

Of course Hunter supports the War in Iraq. Ron Paul doesn’t. There’s your answer.

No it isn’t. Look, when I started following Ron Paul’s message, I didn’t believe mainstream media would spin/suppress the messages. I was wrong. Boy was I wrong. I incredulously collected evidence day after day. It was very hard for me to believe it Eric.

I have to run. If I get time, I will update this post.

